Johnson County Commission chair race in 2022 shaping up — 3 candidates file as Ed Eilert remains quiet about plans

Johnson County Commission

Three candidates, including two current commissioners, have filed to run for the chairmanship of the Johnson County Commission, which will be on the November 2022 ballot. Current chair Ed Eilert (seen above at center in blue face mask) has not yet publicly declared whether he intends to run for reelection next year. File image.

Although much attention in Johnson County is currently focused on municipal and other local races in the Nov. 2 election, a wide open contest is also developing for the top spot on the Johnson County Commission, which will be up on the ballot next year.

This week, a third candidate announced her intention to run for the chair of the commission, a spot currently held by Ed Eilert.