Three Johnson County cities pass new mask mandates — Here’s what you need to know

The cities of Prairie Village, Mission and Roeland Park will all impose new citywide mask mandates beginning Tuesday, Jan. 18. Above, signage in Prairie Village outside of Corinth Library during the city's last mask order in fall 2021. File photo.

In response to the growing number of COVID-19 cases in the area, three northeast Johnson County cities — Prairie Village, Mission and Roeland Park — on Wednesday all approved citywide mask mandates.

Sanmi Areola, director of the Johnson County Department of Health and Environment, told the Prairie Village City Council at a special meeting Wednesday that the effort by these cities is appreciated and supported by the county health department.