Kansas Legislature overrides governor’s veto of new congressional map — See how your lawmakers voted

Kansas legislature 2021

The Kansas Legislature has overridden Gov. Laura Kelly's veto of a new congressional map that Democrats say is intended to make it harder for Democratic Rep. Sharice Davids to win reelection in the state's 3rd Congressional District, which includes Johnson County. File image.

Both the Kansas Senate and House this week voted to override Gov. Laura Kelly’s veto of a controversial congressional redistricting map.

The map reforms the 3rd District of which Johnson County is a part, splitting off part of Wyandotte County and adding three mostly rural counties to the rest of Wyandotte and Johnson County.