Blue Valley School Buzz: BVNW teacher Karen Stohlmann Henderson named 2022 Kansas Master Teacher

Karen Stohlmann Henderson has been at Blue Valley Northwest since 1993, a total of 28 years.

Blue Valley Northwest teacher Karen Stohlmann Henderson was recently named to the 2022 class of Kansas Master Teachers. The seven honorees represent nearly 130 years of teaching experience:

  • Andy Battenfield, Physical Education Teacher at Village Elementary School in USD 253 Emporia
  • Melanie Hammond, Chemistry/Physical Science Teacher at South High School in USD 305 Salina
  • Karen Stohlmann Henderson, Mathematics & Engineering Teacher at Northwest High School in USD 229 Blue Valley
  • Sarah M. Hoff, Social Studies Teacher at Dodge City High School in USD 443 Dodge City
  • Gina Johnson, Fourth and Fifth Grade Teacher at O’Loughlin Elementary School in USD 489 Hays
  • Bryan Scruggs, Instructional Coach at Seitz Elementary School in USD 475 Geary County
  • Barbara Tholen, Journalism Adviser/Graphic Design Teacher at Lawrence High School in USD 497 Lawrence.

The recipients were selected by a 10-member committee including representatives from the Kansas Association of Colleges of Teacher Education, Kansas Principals Association, Kansas Association of School Boards, Kansas Association of Secondary School Principals, Kansas National Education Association, Kansas National Education Association – Student Program, ESU’s Kappa Delta Pi student organization, and representatives of the 2020 Kansas Master Teacher class.